Repentance (Hebrew:תשובה‎, literally, “return”, pronounced tshuva or teshuva) is one element of atoning for sin in Judaism. Judaism recognizes that everybody sins on occasion, but that people can stop or minimize those occasions in the future by repenting for past transgressions. Thus, the primary purpose of repentance in Judaism is ethical self transformation.

A Jewish penitent is traditionally known as a baal teshuva (lit., “master of repentance” or “master of return”) (Hebrew:בעל תשובה). It is a process with a number of steps necessary in order for the individual to fully grasp the concept and successfully perform teshuvah. In Judaism, teshuvah is an on-going process which never ends, but rather continues to the end of life, hopefully having the result of the individual taking steps to higher plains of spirituality along the way.

With each teaching, we provide the video as well as an audio podcast located at the bottom of each page, along with a link to a PDF of the presentation.

Teshuvah – Class 1

Teshuvah – Class 2

Teshuvah – Class 3

Teshuvah – Class 4

Teshuvah – Class 5

Teshuvah – Class 6

Teshuvah – Class 7

Teshuvah – Class 8

Teshuvah – Class 9

Teshuvah – Class 10

Teshuvah – Class 11